Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

Protecting Your Right To Sell in a National Park

leave a comment »

I’ve never seen a sign such this one, which is posted in a parking lot for a trailhead/observation point in a national park near Sedona, Arizona.

The First Amendment protects a number of things, but I didn’t know it also shielded from government interference the selling of wares.

No one was doing that on the day I was here, but I think I might know a portion of the backstory as to how this sign got posted.

On occasion in the Cuyahoga Valley National Park I’ve seen a religious group set up a table with materials on it.

I’ve never checked it out and in my experience those who sit behind it do not go out of their way to approach park visitors.

Perhaps that same group is behind the posting of this sign.

Written by csanders429

June 28, 2017 at 7:27 am

Leave a Reply

