Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

Tracks in the Sand of a Cape Cod Beach

leave a comment »

The backstory behind this photograph is, to me, more pleasing in some ways than the image itself.

It was late October 1978 and I was flying to New England to begin the first extended vacation trip I had ever made by myself.

I had worked long enough at my first real job to qualify for vacation time. I had flown into Providence, Rhode Island, the night before, rented a car and the next day drove out to Cape Cod.

I was young and wanted to photograph just about everything I saw that looked interesting, including these tracks in the sand of a beach.

I don’t know where it is or the name of the lighthouse in the background. I look at this image today and wish I had gone down to the lighthouse.

You just don’t know what it is that you are looking at a given moment that years later you will wish you had done more to capture or experience.

Written by csanders429

June 2, 2017 at 6:59 am

Leave a Reply

