Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

S Curve

leave a comment »

What you see above is what railroads call an S curve because if viewed from above it makes a figure S.

But I see something else. I see a meandering path that creates motion for the eyes. Any basic photography instruction manual preaches the virtue of creating images with motion because it gives the photograph a dynamic quality.

Railroad tracks make visually interesting images because they naturally create a sense of motion.

Having an interest in trains, I was here to get a photograph of a train coming through that S curve. I knew that soon after I made this image that a southbound Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railroad train would becoming along.

Yes, I photographed that train navigating the S curve. Yet sometimes the track alone is enough to create a good image.

I see this photograph and I am beckoned to wonder why lies around that curve in those woods in the distance.

Leave a Reply

