Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

I Didn’t Follow My Own Rules But Got the Photo Anyway

leave a comment »

I wrote a while back about how when I’m traveling by myself I’ll have my camera bag on the passenger seat and the camera turned on in case I see something I want to photograph.

The photograph above was made on one those trips when I was not following that rule. My camera bag was in the trunk and the camera was turned off.

I had stopped at a convenience store to buy a newspaper to read while I had breakfast at Bob Evans restaurant near Burbank, Ohio, just off Interstate 71.

I was en route to Columbus but didn’t expect to make any photographs until the afternoon. As I came out of the convenience store, I noticed a nice looking sunrise. It was just before 7 a.m.

I could have photographed it from the convenience store, but poles and wire would have cluttered the shot. I got in my car and began driving down a rural road toward the sunrise.

I pulled into the truck entrance at one of those massive truck stop complexes you find along the interstate highway system and raced to get my camera out in time.

The sun was partly obscured by a cloud. When I first spotted the rising sun it was a whole orb. But not now.

Nonetheless, I liked the colors and even the play of the sun with the clouds. You could say I traded the clutter of poles and wires for the clutter of trees, but the latter occur naturally, which gives the image a more authentic look.

Written by csanders429

April 28, 2017 at 4:53 am

Leave a Reply

