Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

I Found Erie Harbor North Pier Light on the Second Try

leave a comment »

Last summer I paid my first visit to Presque Isle State Park near Erie, Pennsylvania, with the primary purpose of seeing the two lighthouses located there.

It took me a while to find the first of them, Presque Isle Light. I made wrong turns a couple of times and traffic was heavy, it being a Sunday afternoon.

I decided not to even try to find the other lighthouse located in the park, Erie Harbor North Pier Light. That would wait for another day, which turned out to be a weekday in late August after school had started and traffic in the park was much lighter.

I was able to find the lighthouse without any problems, but was slightly disappointed that it was not nearly as grand as Presque Isle Light or a number of other lighthouses that I’ve photographed.

As its name suggests, Erie Harbor North Pier Light is located on a pier. From a photography standpoint, it is best photographed in the afternoon. I was there in the morning.

I have this lighthouse on my list of places to revisit this summer.

Leave a Reply

