Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

It Was Along the Way

leave a comment »

august-2010-04-mackinaw-city-lighthouse

My interest in photographing lighthouses is of recent vintage. Although I’ve had an interest in lighthouses for awhile it didn’t crystallize until I bought a book nearly two years ago devoted to lighthouses of the Great Lakes.

That has given rise to a fantasy of making a trek to photograph all of the lighthouses of the Great Lakes.

That won’t happen, but I can “collect” photographs of as many of them as I can.

This image of the Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse was made on slide film during an era before my interest in photographing lighthouses had blossomed.

I was traveling with a friend back to Traverse City, Michigan, after a day trip to Sault Ste Marie to see the locks there.

While passing through Mackiac City we stopped so I could get some photographs of the famous Mackinac Bridge from the shore.

The lighthouse just happened to be there so I photographed it. I didn’t make many images of the lighthouse and if I get back there again I’ll have to remedy that situation.

Leave a Reply

