Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

In the Warm California Sun

leave a comment »

california-1-july-1979-x

california-2-1979-x

california-3-1979-0x

This is one of those places where I know generally where it is, but I have forgotten the specific location because I didn’t make any notes as to where I was when I made these images on slide film.

It is July 1979 and I’m in northern California somewhere south of San Francisco and probably near San Jose.

I had rented and driven to a park along the Pacific Coast. Alas, I don’t remember which one.

As I look at this series of images I’m reminded of the song California Sun by the Rivieras. It has been covered by numerous performers.

These images evoke in my mind a day at the beach whiling away the time in a secluded cove sitting on the sand. But there must be countless numbers of those along the long California coast line.

I don’t remember spending much time here and were it not for these photographs I might not remember being here at all.

Leave a Reply

