Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

Autumn Never Seems to Change

leave a comment »

lincoln-log-cabin-3

lincoln-log-cabin-4

I recently ran across these slides that I had created in October 1978 while putting back another slide that had been sitting on my desk for awhile.

It is autumn at Lincoln Log Cabin State Park near Charleston, Illinois. As I reviewed these images I realized that autumn never really changes.

The leaves turn various shades of gold, red, orange and brown before dying and falling to the ground.

But what a colorful show nature puts on during the short window when the foliage is at its peak.

I’ve always enjoyed fall foliage, but I’ve begun to appreciate it more since developing a deeper involvement with photography than I had when these images were made.

It used to be that autumn was something that came along in October and I’d notice it, but never really appreciate it. It’s funny how developing a photographic eye and mindset can change the way you view your world.

Leave a Reply

