Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

Taking Flight From the Vermilion River

leave a comment »

taking-flight-x

I don’t consider myself a wildlife or bird photographer, but if I’m out photographing something else and happen to see a bird or animal that looks interesting I’ll photograph it.

Like any other photographic endeavor, there is probably a trick or two to learn how to get that killer image. No doubt it takes a lot of practice although I would think that rule one is that you have to get out in the field before you can do anything.

I was hanging out on the bank of the Vermilion near the public boat launch waiting for some trains to come along.

I spotted this Great Blue Heron in the water and started making photographs. I don’t remember if it saw me or what, but it suddenly took flight and I tried to follow it.

This was the best image I was able to get as it flew away. I liked how there is a slight reflection in the water, which on this day was kept moving along by a near constant parade of boats.

Leave a Reply

