Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

And Now for the Rest of the Photograph

leave a comment »

peninsula-corn-stalks-x

You’re looking at the rest of an image that I posted recently. That image focused on the pumpkin and a portion of the corn stalks that are immediately behind it.

I had zoomed in on the pumpkin in the original image, but in this image I zoomed out to show more context.

The location is the front porch of a gift shop in Peninsula, Ohio. I wanted to photograph it because it contains two icons that I always link with autumn: pumpkins and corn stalks.

Both are symbolic of the harvest season, which always casts a comforting feeling in my mind. Spring may be the season of hope, summer may be the season of play and winter is the season of survival. But autumn is the season of warmth and comfort.

Who doesn’t enjoy the bright orange of a pumpkin on a sunny day? As for the corn stalks, well corn is a food product harvested in the fall, but the stalks remind me of my boyhood days of roaming corn fields after the farmer had brought in the corn from the field and all that was left were the bent over stalks that had had their ears of corn removed and shucked by the picker.

It has been many years since I roamed a corn field after the harvest. I’ve seen many such fields, but never had the opportunity to roam one. Even if I did it would not hold the same allure as it did when I was a child.

As an adult you recognize that roaming someone else’s property is trespassing. And childhood wonder gives way to other ways of looking at the world.

Yet I’ve never forgotten what it was like to feel free as I roamed over those fields. Images such as this help bring those memories back.

Written by csanders429

November 14, 2016 at 7:12 am

Leave a Reply

