Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

Hi Train!

leave a comment »

kid-in-falls-july-10-x

I’ve had a fascination with trains and railroads since I was the age of this boy waving at an approaching train in Olmsted Falls, Ohio.

I tell people that I can’t remember a day in my life when I didn’t have an interest in trains and I can’t explain why they intrigue me.

Maybe its because they are large moving objects. That might also explain my fascination with airplanes and ships.

Maybe my interest in railroads began when my mother took me aboard a train to St. Louis when I was very young. I say that because I have a particular fascination with passenger trains.

That boy, his father and his mother were at a restored depot that is now owned by a model railroad club in surburban Cleveland.

It’s a nice place to go have lunch and watch a few trains go by. Chances are it is Dad who is the railfan in the family, but outings like these just might trigger a life-long passion in his young son. It’s how a passion often begins.

Written by csanders429

October 22, 2016 at 7:21 am

Leave a Reply

