Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

Not Being Corny

leave a comment »

corn-x

When I was growing up, our house bordered a field that usually grew corn in the summer. In some years the farmer would plant soybeans, but in most years it was corn.

A cornfield is like a magnet to boys living in a small town. My friends and I often found ourselves in that field, particularly after the corn had been harvested.

The challenge was to find whole ears of corn that the picker had missed. They were there, although not common. If they had been the farmer would not have made much money from his crop.

We’d take those ears of corn home and shell them. I don’t know why that appealed to us, but it did.

Today people go to farmer’s markets and buy ears of corn to use as fall decorations. Maybe during the winter they will put the corn out for wildlife to eat.

These ears of corn were at Szalay’s Market in Everett in the Cuyahoga Valley National Park. I haven’t shelled corn for many years. I’m a city guy now and I seldom see ears of corn except those I eat in the summer.

So instead of shelling, I photographed and reminisced.

Written by csanders429

October 19, 2016 at 7:29 am

Leave a Reply

