Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

The Fence and the Foliage

leave a comment »

autumn-and-fence-x

I’m not sure why but I often associate fences with autumn. Somewhere in the past I must have made that connection and I’m not sure when, how or why.

I was walking back to my car after photographing a covered bridge in the Cuyahoga Valley National Park in October 2015 when I spotted this fence against a background of some nice autumn colors.

So whatever it is in my mind that associates fences with foliage kicked in and told me to make this image.

As I look at this scene I feel a sense of peace. Fall colors have always made me feel comfortable and secure. It’s such a short window of opportunity to enjoy them.

If I’ve spent any time on an autumn day admiring the colorful work of nature, I consider it to have been time well spent.

Leave a Reply

