Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

Solitude

leave a comment »

Photo001-x

I don’t know this woman who is sitting alone on this concrete structure gazing out across Lake Erie at Geneva-on-the-Lake, Ohio.

She might be grieving a loss and needed time by herself. She might be contemplating a major decision she must make. She might be simply enjoying the beauty of the lake in late afternoon.

There are any number of reasons that could have led her to this spot. Yet when I saw her sitting there one word came to mind: solitude.

I’ve been in her position many times in which I needed to be by myself to think things over. I’ve also enjoyed just taking in what was in front of me.

I can’t think of any better place to be alone with your thoughts than on the shore of a large body of water.

Leave a Reply

