Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

Saying Farewell to an Old Friend

leave a comment »

Red car

It was old and had racked up nearly 150,000 miles. I hadn’t figured to have it as long as I did, but sometimes expectations don’t work out because life intervenes.

Last December my wife purchased a new Nissan Versa and I inherited the silver Versa she had been driving. My red Sentra was part of the trade-in for the new vehicle.

It was time to replace the Sentra anyway. In the previous year it had encountered a number of mechanical issues that had been costly. Parts were wearing out and who knows how much more in repairs would have been needed down the road.

Still, on the day that I drove this model year 2000 Sentra for the final time I had a mix of emotions. I had driven it for years and we had been a lot of places together. So before leaving home to take the Sentra to the dealer, I posed for a final portrait.

Farewell, old friend.

Written by csanders429

August 31, 2016 at 6:42 am

Posted in people

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

