Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

Rural Illinois High Rise

leave a comment »

Illinois Windsor grain elevator

The downstate Illinois landscape is filled with grain elevators rising into the sky. They are easily the tallest structures in most small towns and visible for miles on the central Illinois prairie.

This particular grain elevator in Windsor, Illinois, holds some significance for me. When I was a child my Dad used to drive Illinois Route 16 west out of my hometown of Mattoon when we made our monthly trips to St. Louis to visit my grandparents.

Windsor was the second town through which we would pass after leaving home. For some reason I remember seeing this grain elevator many times.

The New York Central line to St. Louis once passed through Windsor. The tracks were located between the silo and the building with the red siding. Those tracks were pulled up in the early 1983 and no railroads pass through Windsor today.

I was driving to Mattoon to visit my dad in August 2012 when I came to Windsor. Seeing the grain elevator triggered those memories of all the times we passed through here during our trips to St. Louis.

Even through I was running a little late, I stopped and recorded a structure that remains in my memory.

Written by csanders429

August 30, 2016 at 6:23 am

Leave a Reply

