Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

Seeing the Pacific for the First Time

leave a comment »

x-California 4 1979

I create photographs to remind myself of places I’ve been and things I’ve seen that I might have forgotten otherwise.

The view is somewhere along the Pacific coast of California. I don’t know where, but it has to be someplace near the San Francisco Bay area.

It is my last day in the state during a 1979 vacation and I’ll be flying out late tonight.

I made time to visit the coast, which likely was the first time that I had seen the Pacific Ocean. At the time, I was living in downstate Illinois and nowhere near where I lived was there a body of water like this.

So it was quite a sight, something I had not seen before. It also meant that I had now seen the Atlantic and the Pacific. Some people have never seen either.

It has been several years since I’ve seen the Pacific, which is a reminder of how I need to get back there sometime.

Written by csanders429

August 23, 2016 at 7:58 pm

Leave a Reply

