Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

Feeling at Home on the Farm

leave a comment »

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

I had just gotten up in motel room in Rochelle, Illinois, when I drew back the curtains from the window and was intrigued by the early morning sunlight playing off a nearby farm.

I grew up in downstate Illinois and seeing farms and fields was a common occurrence. I live in a densely populated inner ring suburb now so I don’t get to see wide open spaces as often as I once did.

For a moment, this view reminded me that I was “home” in the sense that rural scenes such as this one used to be an everyday part of my life.

I am still amazed every time that I visit my home state just how flat it is. Maybe you have to have been raised there to appreciate the beauty of a place that some describe as monotonous.

Aside from personal attachment stemming from my roots here, I appreciate the Illinois countryside because it seems so orderly. The roads are laid out on a nice square grid. Even the crops in the fields and utility lines along the roads are linear and orderly.

Everything seems to be in its rightful place. This provides a certain level of comfort that things are as they always have been and always will be.

Written by csanders429

August 22, 2016 at 6:13 am

Leave a Reply

