Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

I Didn’t Let it Get Away This Time

leave a comment »

Many of our life rhythms revolve around routines necessitated by our work schedules. During the spring semester of 2012, I taught four classes, all of which met in the morning. My routine seldom varied. I’d get up, do some work, shower, get dressed and go downstairs to eat breakfast.

Before doing the latter, I’d go out to the front lawn to retrieve the newspaper.

For much of the semester, it was dark when I went out. But as spring arrived the sun kept coming up slightly earlier day by day.

On some of those mornings, the first rays of light greeted me as I went out and I’d think how “this would make a nice photograph.”
But I never did anything more than admire the view and pause for a few seconds.

On April 4, though, I did more than think about it. The beauty of the sunlight reflecting off a bank of clouds was just too much to pass up.

I raced upstairs, got my camera out of the bag and snapped away.

I had to work fast because the color was disappearing rapidly.

The results were more than satisfying. At last I had done more than just admire a sunrise before resuming my morning routine.

Written by csanders429

May 21, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Posted in Photography

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

