Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

One Fleeting Moment

leave a comment »

Everything about this image is fleeting. Within a couple of minutes after I recorded this image, the early morning fog would lift. I would not have time to linger at the water’s edge for I would be called to come across the street to join the group for breakfast. And it  may be the last time that I’m in Findley Lake, N.Y., in the early morning hours.

It is August 2011. I am here because my wife is attending a meeting of a group for which she is a trustee. For the past few years, the trustees have met in Findley Lake. I typically join them for breakfast, then head off to a railroad museum in North East, Pa., for the day. I rejoin them in the evening for dinner.

But Mary Ann is stepping down as a trustee and we probably won’t be making this trip anymore. So perhaps it was only fitting that I had but just enough time to see the image, record it and then leave it behind. Everything was just so fleeting.

So much of life is like that.

Written by csanders429

March 4, 2012 at 10:19 am

Leave a Reply

