Seeing Things, Saying Things

Musings About Writing, Photography and Teaching

It Just Caught My Eye

with one comment

I was waiting with a friend in Painesville, Ohio, to photograph a train on the CSX mainline that runs between Cleveland and Buffalo, N.Y. An Alberta Clipper was moving through with high winds that at times blew the falling snow sideways.

Within a matter of minutes, snow covered the once bare ground. The train I was waiting for arrived and I got out to get what I hoped would be a killer snow shot.

But something caught my eye as I got out of Jeff’s truck. A section of rail lay nearby and the top of the rail was stubbornly resisting the efforts of the snow to cover it.

I’m sure there is a scientific explanation as to why snow stuck to the bottom portion of the rail, but not so much to the top.

But I was intrigued by the texture of the snow on the rail from top to bottom. It is the sort of spur of the moment image I like to make. Something catches my eye, click. A moment in time is recorded.

The snow no doubt melted from this section of rail within a few days. Will this pattern ever repeat itself? Maybe not exactly this way, but close. I might never see it though. But I’ll have this memory.

Written by csanders429

March 4, 2012 at 9:59 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. interesting.

    iamforeveralex

    March 4, 2012 at 10:07 am


Leave a Reply

